British Credit Union Historical Society

Knowsley Mutual Credit Union Ltd

Knowsley Mutual (KMCU), formerly Northwood CU, has been serving the community of Kirkby since 1990, in the 1990’s Kirkby was served by four credit unions, Northwood, Southdene, West vale and Towerhill, KMCU is one of two remaining of the four credit unions. In 2007 Northwood Credit Union had an active membership of 205; growth had peaked, the board agreed in order to grow and develop it was important to extend services to the wider community. In order to achieve this goal, it was identified the need for the common bond extension, central premises and staff. Therefore in 2007 the board of the then Northwood CU successfully applied to the Big lottery to fund a three-year project with the focus of growth in both membership and loan book in order to realise a sustainable credit union. The main project outcome was to achieve membership growth from 205 to 3,000 by 2010. Growth expectations surpassed but sustainability was still yet to be realised. Until August 2007 the credit union was managed solely by volunteers, 20 in total, over the years volunteer representation declined with sole focus at board level, all operational matters led by the manager and supported by 6 paid members of staff. Since 2007 KMCU has changed name twice and merged twice, mergers with West vale CU in 2009 and Fazakerley CU 2015 Like most credit unions KMCU has embraced the opportunity to offer a range of loan and savings products, involved, albeit in latter stages of DWP Growth fund, this provided KMCU with the platform, along with the changes in the interest cap, to realise the opportunity to become a sustainable business. Knowsley MCU has a wide common bond to include Knowsley, Liverpool, Sefton and West Lancashire, with offices in Kirkby, Fazakerley, Netherton and Skelmersdale. As of September 25th, 2017, KMCU had a membership of 9581 of these 4260 active, combined loan books of £1,139,365 generating £357,700 income.

NEFirst Credit Union Ltd

NEFirst Credit Union Ltd

The credit union was formed in 2013 by the merger of a number of smaller North East based Credit Unions. Durham Cestria and Gateshead Credit Union following the amalgamation of Durham City Credit Union, Teesdale Credit Union, Cestria Credit Union and Gateshead First Credit Union, between them they have more than 20 years’ experience of managing a Credit Union. NEFirst Credit Union covers the whole of the North East, including County Durham, Northumberland and all of the boroughs that make up Tyne and Wear (Newcastle, Gateshead, Sunderland, North Tyneside and South Tyneside). Anyone who lives or works in this area is eligible to join. The merger of Prince Bishops Community Bank from the 1st of April 2018 will resulted in a larger Credit Union with over 16,000 members, shares of more than £4.5M and a loan book in excess of £3.5M.  It will operate throughout the North East and provide a range of products for savers and borrowers. Together the credit unions are far stronger together it will consolidate and strengthen the Credit Union movement in the North East as a whole, and especially in Country Durham. With effect from 1st October 2018, Northumberland Credit Union joined NEFirst credit union.   Credit Union for South East Northumberland Limited was registered in October 2008 and from 2017 was trading as Northumberland Community Bank. Previously known as Ashington Credit Union Limited from 1997 to 2008 and before then was Hirst Saving & Credit Union Limited from 1990 to 1997. 

Shetfield Credit Union Ltd

Established in 2004 in an amalgamation of a number of smaller Credit Unions in Sheffield, Sheffield Credit Union has grown to provide its members with safe savings products and low cost, affordable loans. Sheffield Credit Union was the winner of the Sheffield Chamber of Commerce “Business in the Community Award” 2015. In 2016 Sheffield Credit Union merged with Rothersave Credit Union to offer services through branches in Sheffield and Rotherham. Sheffield Credit Union now employs around 20 paid staff, who are supported in their work by a similar number of committed volunteers, and has around 7,000 active members. People who live or work in the following Council regions, can join Sheffield Credit Union:  Sheffield, Rotherham, Doncaster, Barnsley, Derbyshire Dales, Bassetlaw, Chesterfield, North East Derbyshire and Bolsover. The credit union also covers the employees and tenants of 16 different housing providers who are located at least partly within the Sheffield City Region

Write a new comment: (Click here)
Characters left: 160
DONE Sending...
See all comments

| Reply

Latest comments

18.08 | 14:55

I am very proud to be a part of the credit union and the ethos of people helping people.

Congratulations to No1 CopperPot.

14.07 | 04:57

A very inspiring and educational experience. It awaken my interest to serve the community.

01.07 | 13:06

As schools Development Worker for Unify Credit Union, I found the schools project resources very useful.... some really good ideas, Thank you x

23.11 | 16:41
Your CU Resources Has received 2
You liked this page